OscarsI’m going to be taking a step away from reviewing books (though it’s not too far), and talk about the Oscars last night.

While all of the celebrities walked the red carpet, I sat in my rainbow pajamas and waited for the award show to begin. I was a little apprehensive before they started, because I had heard that Seth MacFarlane was hosting. But, once the show it started I was delightfully surprised when he turned out to be quite the funny host.

I say it isn’t too much of a leap for me to speak about the Oscars because usually the books nominated are based on books, which is the way things seem to be going in the last couple of years. Argo, Life of Pi, Silver Lining Playbook, and Lincoln were in the category of Best adapted screenplay. Argo, who won in the category, is not only based on the book by Tony Mendez but on an article written Joshuah Bearman.

I’m a person who stands on the side that I want to read the book before I watch the movie, because I have always found that the book is better than the movie. I also like to go into a movie with a general idea of where the story is going to go, and also because I just want an excuse to read another good book.

I will admit I went and saw Argo and Silver Lining Playbook before I read the books, because I hadn’t realized they were at the time. I’m planning on reading both and putting up reviews as soon as I can, so keep an eye out for those posts!

All and all, the only ones I was surprised about were the wins I wasn’t expecting. I was surprised when Jennifer Lawrence, Silver Lining Playbook, beat out Sally Fields, Lincoln, for best supporting actress. I for one screamed when they called her name, and quickly suppressed a giggle when Lawrence tripped walking up the stairs on her beautiful dress.

Les Mes, Argo, Life of Pi, Django unchained, Amour, Skyfall, Zero Dark Thirty, and The Hobbit all got the Oscar nods in different categories last night. Daniel Day Lewis had a surprisingly funny acceptance speech when he won for Best actor, and Christoph Waltz walked away with his second Oscar for Best supporting Actor for Django.

At the end of the night, when the Oscars were all handed out but one, I waited with bated breath for the announcement of film of the year. I wanted Argo to win, and had been saying it since I saw the movie. I thought all of the movies should have won, except for Django unchained. I was quite happy when when Argo was called, and called it a night for this bookworm.

And so ended the 85th annual Academy Awards, leaving actors, directors, fans, reporters, producers, and everyone else eagerly awaiting the 86th awards. I’m excited for the new batch of movies to hit the big screen, especially ones that will be adapted from movies.

