Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone, by J.K. Rowling, introduces readers to an 11 year-old boy named Harry Potter who lives under the stairs of #4 Privet Drive with his Aunt, Uncle and cousin. What starts with some strange letters delivered to young Harry turns into an adventure that impacted millions of young, and old, readers a like.

Harry is never told by his Aunt and Uncle that he is a wizard, as his parents were before him. They told him that his parents died in a car crash, when in reality a very powerful dark wizard killed them and tried to kill Harry. But, he failed and was never seen again.

Harry quickly learns of the magical world once he goes to Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry, where he quickly finds out that not only is he famous because of what happened to him and his parents: but that his life is in danger from an unsuspected source.

Along with his best friends, Harry faces dangers that not many 11 year-olds can walk away from unscratched. But, Harry manages to do it with flying colours throughout the book. He encounters: Dragons, Unicorns, Centaurs, Quidditich, losing house points, Trolls and even the Dark Lord once again. It’s a very eventful first year for Harry, and he only has more to look forward to for his following six years at Hogwarts.

The Harry Potter series is what started me into reading, and I literally grew up with the series. I am among the ‘Potter Generation’, and even have a Harry Potter inspired tattoo. The story of Harry and his adventures really affected me, among millions of others, and shaped who I am today. It taught me live lessons, and helped me realize the type of person I want to be.

I’d just like to take this moment to thank J.K. Rowling, who never gave up when she was trying to get Harry published and became a role model for myself and a teacher to those who read her books.

