With only ten days left until Christmas, and Hanukkah having started on the 12th (apologies if I got the date wrong), and my Christmas vacation having started a few days ago: this Bookworm is attempting to get into the Christmas spirit.

One of the ways I accomplish this is to take a break from reading, and to watch some Christmas movies and television specials along with decorating my home with the family.

Here is my list of top Christmas movies that I just can’t go through the Christmas season without watching!

5. How the Grinch Stole Christmas (1966)

I’m actually watching this one as I write this post, and was quite happy that I managed to find it on television. I remember my Mom reading the book to my brothers and I, and I just thoroughly enjoy the cartoon version. (The life action version just doesn’t hit me in the same place as the cartoon does.)

4. Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer (1964)

From the songs to the books to the movies, Rudolph threaded with my childhood Christmas’ for as long as I can remember. To this day I will sit down and watch it, and to this day Rudolph is still my favourite reindeer.

3. The Santa Clause (1994)

It just doesn’t feel like Christmas unless I sit down and watch this movie, even though this year I’ve only seen the second one on television so far. But, we still have it on VHS and I plan on bringing it out soon to sit down and enjoy Tim Allen’s Christmas humour.

2. National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation (1989)

Who doesn’t enjoy Chevy Chase’s rant half way through the movie that was entirely made up by Chase on the spot? It was my older brother’s favourite Christmas movie, and I recall sitting down to watch this movie more than once when we were younger.

1. The Ref  (1994)

To top off my list is The Ref, which my family and I watch every year while we put up the tree. It’s a bit more adult humour, but is still by far one of my top Christmas movie favourites that I cannot go through the Christmas season without watching it.

I hope you enjoyed my top five Christmas movies, and I’m curious what yours are. Leave your top five Christmas movies in the comments, and what else you do to get into the Christmas spirit.

