No spoilers ahead

With the finale of season five of Game of Thrones airing last night, and I begrudgingly watched it with a friend even though I’m not a huge fan of the series, it got me thinking.

George R.R. Martin is notorious for deaths of characters, randomly and without explanation, and the show based on his books is no different. Though, they do span off of the books story lines, the show’s writers keep true to Martin’s message about his characters: anyone can die at anytime.

P87Nys7

 

 

 

 

Looking at GoT with that thought in mind, it boggles my minds that fans are still met with world shattering plot twists when important characters die.

I’ve had discussions with fans about the series, and I remember realizing that their spoilers weren’t the same as what I considered spoilers. The nature of the show has made it so I don’t see a death as a spoiler, because all of the characters have the potential to be killed off randomly in a bloody show.

But, that begs the question, what is a spoiler? 

As pointed out by Jesse David Fox’s article for Vulture, a true spoiler for GoT would be for all of the main characters to manage to make it through a season finale and the real surprise would be that a main character is killed in the premier of the new season.

As someone who made the leap from Season 1 to season five’s finale, I knew a grand total of 7 main characters in last nights episode. I wasn’t affected at all by the deaths in the episode, and was surprised to see the hail storm the episode had created on my social media.

For me, the deaths aren’t the plot twists that should cause shock because it’s obvious Martin and the show writers give zero f#$%s about them. When the deaths stop adding to the story, and are seemingly just included for the shock value to fans, are they really spoilers anymore?

I personally don’t think so, but what do you think?

