While looking for things to post on my works social media, (Yes, I get PAID to post on Facebook and another wordpress blog. WHOOT!) I came across an article by Buzzfeed where they had asked subscribers to their book newsletter what books they couldn’t put down while reading.

Their subscribers came up with 53 books, and it got me thinking about what books I couldn’t put down while reading and what everyone else’s were, as well.

(It’s a good way to encourage people to read new books, and a good way to find good books!)

I’m not going to post a list of 52 (don’t tempt me!), but here’s my short list of books I couldn’t put down:

Black Out by Lisa Unger

51rVuaiW-2L._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

This book must have been on my bookshelf for years, because one day I randomly picked it up and started reading it. I wasn’t expecting too much from the book, and it completely blew me away! I read the 500+ page book in a matter of days, and was reeling from the twists and turns that Unger took me on. The story follows Annie Powers, who seems like the perfect Florida house wife with the perfect family, but she fears that the demons from he past life are coming to get her. She must dig deep into her past to save her future, and must fight harder than she had in the past to beat her past demons.

World War Z by Max Brooks

World_War_Z_book_cover

Never one to turn down a suggestion about a book, an old boyfriend suggested that I read World War Z. I will admit: I’m not huge on the whole zombie story line. But, this is by far the best zombie book I’ve read! The book approaches the telling of the worlds fight against the zombie plague ten years later, and centers on individuals narratives from different nationalities. The interesting this for this book was the main character, a agent of the United Nations Postwar Commission, never says their name and only recounts the stories of those he interviews after he was told his report wasn’t what they wanted.  

The Hunger Games trilogy by Suzanne Collins

Hunger_games_trilogy

After asking a friend, who was reading the first book in Suzanne Collins’ trilogy, I was hooked before I even picked up the book. I read the three books within weeks of each other, and some of the plot twists managed to make me scream ‘BULLSHIT’ at the top of my lungs at 3 AM on morning. The books follow Katniss Everdeen after she volunteers to be a tribute in the 74th annual Hunger Games for her sister, Prim, and has to fight for her life in and outside the arena. 

I Hunt Killers by Barry Lyga

7766027

This story gave me nightmares! This book caught my eye because of the cover, and I did not regret bringing it home. This book succeeded in making me afraid of my own shadow, and was just an amazing book. Jasper Dent is the song of the United States most notorious serial killer, and Dear Old Dad taught his son to follow in his foot steps. But, Jasper desperately wants nothing to do with his father’s legacy. Instead, when bodies start piling up in town, Jasper goes out of his way to help find the killer who’s copying Jasper’s dad’s early kills.

Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling

index

I thank my mother for reading these books to me as a child, and sparking my love of reading. Even though I’ve read them a number of times, I can’t put them down no matter what. The intricate story lines always make it so you notice something new every time you read them, and even now I notice things I missed before. Rowling tells the story of Harry Potter, the Boy Who Lived, and his journey to Hogwarts and toward a battle to find out what’s really important.

Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

gone-girl-book-cover-med

The plot twist I never saw coming came from Gillian Flynn’s, Gone Girl, and I’m still reeling from it. Even though the ending fell flat for me, the book was overall the best book I’d read from 2014. On their fifth wedding anniversary, Nick Dunne’s wife, Amy Eliott Dunne, goes missing. Eyes immediately turn to Nick as the prime suspect, and Nick seems determined to encourage that as he lies to the press and police. 

Black Dagger Brotherhood series by J.R. Ward

njh

One of the few romance series that I love, The Black Dagger Brotherhood has an amazing mix of sex, fighting, drama and story to keep me coming back book after book. Each book has a different main character, though they are all some how connection with the Brotherhood. They are an ancient group of vampire warriors who protect their kind from a group determined to kill them off, called the Lessers, and the Omega.

A Time to Kill  by John Grisham

 atimetokill

This was the first John Grisham book I ever read, and I was immediately hooked. I will admit, I was in high school when I read this book, and I didn’t fully understand it until I read it again years later. But, it makes the list because even the second time around I couldn’t put it down. After the vicious rape and beating of a 10 year old African American girl in Mississippi in the 1980’s by two white racists, her father goes and kills the two white men for attacking his daughter. A young attorney attempts to get the father a fair trial in a racist state, and attempts to keep him from getting the death penalty.

Dark Hunter series by Sherrilyn Kenyon

skdhseries

Another romance series I just can’t put down is Sherrilyn Kenyon’s Dark Hunter series, which a friend happened to give me two books from the series which got me hooked. Similar to the Brotherhood series, each book has a different character as the main focus. Each character is connected somehow, and you always learn something about the other characters in each book. The story has elements of romance, revenge, gods, and daimons out to steal human’s sous.

 Now, it’s your turn!

Share in the comments the books that you couldn’t put down!

