9780312984823Another book by Sherrilyn Kenyon checked off the list, and I haven’t even made a dent in her book list. I’m going to continue to read Kenyon’s book until I’ve read all of the books that I have, even if I continue well after the summer end.

Night Embrace follows Talon of the Morrigantes and Sunshine Runningwolf’s love story, which started in Talon’s life before he became a Dark Hunter. After angering a God while he grieved over the death of his Uncle, Talon is cursed to watch any human he loves die. This results in the death of his wife, Nynia, and their unborn son and his sister before his own death.

 

After swearing his allegiance to Artemis for an act of vengeance, Talon spends his life as a Dark Hunter protecting humans from Daimons, drinking his chicory coffee, and talking to his best friend and fellow Dark Hunter, Wulf, on the phone.

But, Talon does this by cutting himself off from his emotions. He’s the reliable solider who does as he’s told without question, and never questions where his loyalties are.

Until he’s almost run over by a Mardi Gras float, and ends up in Sunshine’s apartment with no clothes on the next day.

Both of their lives are turned upside down while a couple of Gods attempt to get their Godhood back, while a few controversial Dark Hunters get brought into town to help with the Marti Gras crowds, Talon finds out that Sunshine is Nynia reincarnated and we are given just a glimpse into the story of the Dark Hunter leader, Acheron.

While Sunshine and Talon’s story isn’t my favourite book, it does rate quite high for me in the series. The glimpse into Ash’s mysterious past added to my enjoyment, and Sunshine as a character is just an awesome character who is pretty relate-able personality wise for me.

