6914102Overall rating: 4/5

Book 6 in the Women of the Otherworld series brings us back to Elena, in one of my favourite of the books. When I first started to read this series, I originally only bought the books that had Elena in them. It wasn’t until later that I realized they were a part of the series, and then I set out to buy all the books.

During a pregnancy that has her on edge, Elena Michaels, is eager for a distraction. This distraction comes from a weird source, but Elena jumps at the chance after the source gives them a lead to a problem mutt that the Pack couldn’t find.

The source has been commissioned to steal a stolen artifact from a local sorcerer, the From Hell letter rumoured to have been written by Jack the Ripper. After Elena, along with Clayton Danvers and Jeremy Danvers, manage to steal the letter, they accidentally trigger the letter that has become a portal.

With the help of the rest of the Pack, a couple of supernatural friends, Elena and company attempt to close the portal as Toronto is overrun by Victorian era zombies, cholera, killer rats, and disappearing Canadians. During their trip, Elena learns that she is farther along that she originally thought and is carrying twins.

In true fashion, the issues are wrapped up. However, Clay suffers after being scratched by one of the zombies. To get rid of the infection that may have caused him to lose his arm, a Toronto doctor slices out a large part of the infection.

I feel like I’m almost done this series, even though I’m nowhere near it. I’m happy to finally have all of the books, and am eager to finish the series. Elena’s books are my favourite, but the other books are interesting and show different parts of this supernatural world.

